Cooking “Off” the New Year Right!

What better way to ring in the New Year than committing to eating a healthier diet?  And, as research confirms, there’s no better way to accomplish that than by preparing and eating your meals at home. Easier said than done, of course. For many of us, shopping and meal planning, let alone cooking, is a daunting task. The team at Woodlands Wellness and Cosmetic Center in The Woodlands, Texas, offers the following tips.

Take advantage of available help 

More than ever before, these days there are many resources to help lighten the ‘kitchen workload’ and still allow us to eat healthily. Meal Prep websites, books, and blogs are easy to access and many times free. Depending on your approach to healthy eating (low-sugar, Whole 30, Paleo, or Vegetarian) there is an abundance of reliable information to assist with grocery lists, preparation tips, meal plans, and recipes. 

Many grocery stores are now offering online ordering and curbside pick-up as a convenient option for weekly grocery shopping.  This service can still support healthy eating and preparing more meals at home but will save you time by not having to shop for yourself.

Meal kits are a great option

Meal Kit delivery services are another way to home-cook healthy meals with the added convenience of most of the food prep done by the company.  Many of these meal-kit companies offer a variety of meal plan options.  Paleo, Low Carb, Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Vegetarian are just a few of the specialty diets that you can order online and have delivered.  One of the great things about these kits is that even a beginner cooker can navigate the recipes and most meals are ready in 30 minutes or less.  Sun Basket is one of my favorites as it is organic and reasonably priced and has options for 1, 2, or 4 people per meal.  

See below for links to the most popular meal-kit services.

Sun Basket - https://sunbasket.com/

Blue Apron - https://www.blueapron.com/

Hello Fresh - https://www.hellofresh.com/

Purple Carrot - https://www.purplecarrot.com/  (this is a vegetarian option)

Green Chef - https://greenchef.com/home

Plated - https://www.plated.com/

Home Chef - https://www.homechef.com/

Make 2021 your year of eating healthily

So, make 2021 your year to be well.  I challenge all of you to eat more meals at home, embrace taking control of your health, and don’t be afraid to try new things.  Who knows, you might like it!!!!.............oh, and don’t forget to use your slow-cooker or your Instant Pot, it’s a game-changer!

To learn more about upping your game when it comes to eating well, contact Woodlands Wellness & Cosmetic Center for a consultation, either by phone or online today.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Skipping Holiday Weight Gain

Even though the pandemic has many of us staying home this holiday season, the temptation to indulge in festive treats and drinks can still cause us to pack on extra pounds. To avoid doing so, we offer 10 sure-fire strategies.