Lifestyle & Nutrition Blog
Other Names for Wheat, Soy and Corn.
If you have visited a grocery store recently, it’s impossible ignore the vast number of food products that are available to us. Along with fruits, vegetables, meat, eggs and dairy there are aisles of packaged foods available for us to buy. The world of packaged/processed foods has grown exponentially in the past 30 years and with that growth brings the complexity of decoding food labels. Food labels provide grocery consumers with information regarding nutritional facts (calories, fat grams, sugar grams etc.), ingredient lists and potential allergens that may per present in that food. This label information is particularly necessary for consumers with food allergies or food sensitivities. Knowing the ingredients that are present in packaged or processed foods can reduce the potential for adverse reactions to food. For some people, these reactions can be headaches, stomach upset or rashes but for others they can be more severe like breathing difficulties, hives or anaphylaxis. The problem with reading food labels is that food allergens are often disguised by other names confusing us even more! Wheat, corn and soy are 3 foods that have hundreds of derivatives and thousands of other names. Shopper Beware!!
Wheat, corn and soy appear frequently as ingredients in thousands of packaged and processed foods. Often times, they are listed in their natural form or can be listed under ‘other names’ that we don’t recognize. For example; other names for wheat include bulgur, farro, semolina, graham, gluten, malt and rye and there are hundreds more. Corn is also present in thousands of processed and packaged foods and often appears under names other than ‘corn’. Maltodextrin, fructose, and sorbitol all come from corn and yet their names do not contain the word ‘corn’ at all. Finally, soy is found in many common foods under names like ‘tamari, soy lecithin, HVP (hydrolyzed vegetable protein), tofu and vegetable starch.
Derivatives of wheat, corn and soy can be problematic for many people. Policing these ingredients in foods can seem like a full-time job for those individuals. There are several good resources available that provided lists foods that contain wheat, corn or soy. Check out the links below for further information.
Office Hours:Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm